Review of The Painted Man – Peter V Brett

21st February 2015

The Painted Man – Peter V Brett

I am always slightly anxious when starting a completely new series that I have heard so much about. There are so many of them that just don’t live up to all the hype.

Fortunately having just finished The Painted Man (also known as The Warded Man), the first book in Peter V. Brett’s Demon Cycle series, I can say that this is not the case here.

So many authors spend all of their time concentrating on building the world in which their story is set and not enough time developing the character to reader relationship. While Peter’s strong world building abilities are put to good use in this book, he has also spent a good amount of time developing realistic characters. Like any person, the three main protagonists have moments of fear, anger, doubt, shame and stupidity, but I do believe that it helped me as a reader to be able to relate to them more closely. I often found myself shaking my head and cursing at the characters for some misinformed choice or other. I like it when characters, in books I am reading, bring out an emotional response from me and Peter has certainly managed it here.

I can’t think of any other book that I have written that uses warding as the main source of magic and it is a refreshing change from some of the more traditional magic systems typically used in fantasy novels.

Mix all of these elements together and you have a classic in the making.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone who hasn’t read it but is a fan of the fantasy genre.

You can find out more about Peter V. Brett and his work at http://www.petervbrett.com/  or by clicking on the cover image below to see the book’s goodreads page.

Thanks for reading

3428935

This entry was posted in Reads and Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of The Painted Man – Peter V Brett

  1. Pingback: A Ream of Reviews | The Unnamed Blog of the Fantasy Genre

Please Leave a Comment

