Review of Old Man’s War – John Scalzi

10th February 2015

Old Man’s War – John Scalzi

I decided to take a short break from my usual fantasy books and get some sci-fi into me. I had heard of John Scalzi and Old Man’s war but I just hadn’t found the time to try it.

I must say I am very happy that I did as I thoroughly enjoyed it. It adds a much needed twist to the tried and tested military sci-fi novel.

The main protagonist is a 75 year old man who joins up to fight in an intergalactic army. I think this approach is great as he is able to bring a whole life’s worth of experience and knowledge to the situations he must face.

The story featured some emotional scenes and some funny scenes in it but was in general a fast paced novel with plenty of bad ass aliens, action and dead bodies.

There was only one thing that I found a bit annoying and it was the often he said/she said during conversations and dialogue. It really did become quite repetitive at times.

All in all a fun, interesting and enjoyable read which I have already been recommending and I am ready for book two.

If you want to find out more about this author you can check out his website/blog www.scalzi.com or you can click on the cover image below to see the book’s Goodreads page.

Thanks for reading

Old Man's War (Old Man's War, #1)

 

This entry was posted in Reads and Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Old Man’s War – John Scalzi

  1. Pingback: A Ream of Reviews | The Unnamed Blog of the Fantasy Genre

Please Leave a Comment

