Review of Heartwood – Freya Robertson

2nd February 2015

Heartwood – Freya Robertson

I had been looking forward to listening to this book as it is the first book in an epic fantasy series (and I love Epic fantasy), but unfortunately it just wasn’t as good as I was hoping for. Please don’t get me wrong I am not saying that this is a poor book, it just wasn’t the great book I had been expecting. I will get the negative comments out of the way to start with.

There are just too many fantasy clichés in this book for my liking and too much time spent giving you information that you just don’t need to know. I found that sometimes I was losing track of characters with all of the jumping around from one to the next which meant that, with a rare exception, I didn’t really care when one of them was killed or hurt. The fight scenes, while plentiful, just didn’t flow together in my opinion and they left me wondering at times how they managed to accomplish some impossible feats, such as crossing a considerable distance in the time it takes an opponent’s sword to fall in order to save someone else.

That said Freya’s world building is excellent, if a bit overdone, and some of her characters are interesting to read about, especially some of the female knights, which will make you want to discover the outcome, even though you could probably guess it.

All in all I think this could have been a great book but with so many characters going off in different directions it was at times hard to keep track of everyone. I will probably read the second instalment in this series to see where the story goes on from here.

If you would like to find out more about this and all of the authors other work please visit http://www.freyarobertson.com/

Thanks for reading

This entry was posted in Reads and Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of Heartwood – Freya Robertson

  1. Hmm. I’ve heard of this author, but I haven’t read her books as of yet. Even though it wasn’t a slam dunk for you, this sounds intriguing enough that I think I’ll add it to my TBR list. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment

