Review of The Grim Company – Luke Scull

8th January 2015

The Grim Company – Luke Scull

 

I picked up this book after reading some reviews on it and was looking forward to an entertaining read, but to be honest I felt a bit disappointed with this first book in the trilogy.

I don’t know if it was the fact that I just didn’t like one of the main protagonists, Davarus Cole, or if it was the narrator who I just didn’t seem to settle to, but by the end of the book I was actually looking forward to the end. This led to a completely different problem as the book didn’t seem to end so much as just stop.

I do think that if I had been reading the actual book then I would probably have enjoyed it more as the actual story was  quite good and the big barbarian-like northmen were likeable and often quite funny.

The last few chapters are certain to keep you turning the pages as there is plenty of action but the outcome is somewhat predictable.

I am sorry I didn’t like this book more as I had been looking forward to it, but please don’t let my review put you off as there are plenty of good reviews on goodreads for this book.

If you want to find out more about this book and its author go to  http://www.lukescull.com/

This entry was posted in Reads and Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Comment

