Broke the 10k!

Well in the last week I broke my first benchmark of ten thousand words and almost made it to fifteen thousand. Woo Hoo!

I finished off the prologue and then decided to rewrite some of chapter 1 which then led on to rewriting parts of the other chapters and then changed the working title. Argh sometimes it seems like I’m on some kind of literary roundabout and just can’t seem to get any further forward.

I managed to write chapter four and make a decent start to chapter five.

Being a father of four it is quite hard getting time to work on my book until everyone is in bed but I have a couple of days off from my day job and so will hopefully get a chance to do some daytime work on my book while the kids are busy.

Thanks again for reading.

Nairn

This entry was posted in My Book. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broke the 10k!

  1. Congratulations! I know exactly how you feel. I just made it past the 22,000 Mark. I think what helped me was participating in NaNoWriMo last month even if I did a low tech version. It got me in the habit of writing at least 300 pages a day.Of course I don’t have children so I can only imagine how difficult it must be for you to find the time and energy. Don’t give up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo Hoo!! That’s awesome 🙂 NaNoWriMo is short for National Writing Month which takes place every November. The challenge is to write 50,000 words by the end of the month. Once you sign up you get advice and pep talks from established authors. It’s up to you how much you want to do. A couple of fellow bloggers/authors advised me not to go crazy with the word count so I didn’t. I don’t have a laptop or pc which would have made that difficult anyway. My novel is completely handwritten thus far. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a laptop next year. It was still great though as I found the advice really helpful and as I said it got me into the habit of writing every day, even past blocks. They do smaller events through out the year if you want to check it out. I believe the website is: http://www.NaNoWriMo.org

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Comment

