Writing Fantasy

I know that people say that there is a book in all of us, but my God is it hard to get it onto paper in a format that everyone will firstly understand and secondly read. I started this book around the beginning of November 2014, with just the barest hint of an idea. I took a notepad with me to work and started writing ideas for characters and plot lines and after a few pages I started trying to put the ideas onto paper, which proved harder than I thought. I started with chapter one, as you would, and created a rough draft, which I then filled out and adapted and rewrote and again adapted. It helped greatly that two of my friends at work are also huge fans of this genre and I was able to bounce ideas off them and see their response.

So far I have written chapters 1-3 and I have written most of my prologue, but every time I read through what I have written I find things I would like to change, remove or just reword.

I do most of my work at night either sitting up in bed with my laptop on my knee and my iPhone torch on to read my notes or sitting at the dining table to save my back and my eyes from the constant strain.

One issue that I found that I was losing a lot of good ideas because I was driving at work and was unable to take notes. So I bit the bullet and eventually bought myself a cheap dictaphone which means that I need never arrive where I was going trying furiously to remember what I had thought of on the drive.

I will try to keep you up to date on my progress as I go and include as many of the difficulties that I encounter as well as how I overcome them.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Nairn

This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Comment

