The 10 books that I am most looking forward to reading/listening to

I know that this is a subject which is covered quite extensively by a number of bloggers and other sites, but as I feel that this is such a personal thing down to an individuals own tastes then I thought I would share my thoughts on it. I don’t think that there will be any great surprises to many of you.

1. Queen of Fire (Ravens Shadow #3) by Anthony Ryan. I only discovered Anthony Ryan and Vaelin Al Sorna this year through a friends recommendation and wow what a discovery. My wife was ready for divorcing me as I was constantly walking round with my earphones in completely oblivious to everything around me. The narrator, Steven Brand, did a great job of bringing Mr. Ryan’s characters to life in the audiobook. If you haven’t read of the exploits of Vaelin and friends then get to it. You can check out the details at https://anthonystuff.wordpress.com/books.

2. Providence of Fire (The Unhewn Throne #2) by Brian Stavely. The first book Emperors Blades exploded on to the fantasy scene just under a year ago and it seemed like forever to wait until January 2015 when book 2 would be released. Fortunately that time is almost done and I personally can’t wait for the return of Kaden, Valyn and Adare. Book one was fast,furious and just fantastic. Add to that the fact that it is read by the amazing Simon Vance and you have one of the most anticipated sequels on the market. Check out the wonderful Brian Staveley at https://bstaveley.wordpress.com/ 

3. The Dark Defiles (A Land Fit for Heroes #3) by Richard K Morgan. Another relatively new discovery for me was Richard K Morgan’s current fantasy series. I came across a mention of this on another blog and thought I would check it out. I am so glad that I did! The author took the somewhat risky step of having a gay man, Ringil, as one of his main characters and smashed it. The language can be strong at parts but very witty at others and with Simon Vance again as the narrator I cannot wait for this third instalment.  You can find out more about this series and all of the author’s other work at http://www.richardkmorgan.com/

4. The Price of Valor (The Shadow Campaigns #3) by Django Wexler. Book 2 in this series was released earlier this year and if you like flintlock fantasy then you will love this. The series follows three main characters Captain Marcus d’Ivoire, Winter Ihernglass and Colonel Janus bet Vhalnich and is full of twists, turns and plenty of intrigue. This is another series which has included a gay main character, Winter Ihernglass, who masquerades as a male soldier. If you haven’t read any of the series to date then you can find out more information at http://djangowexler.com/

5. Firefight (The Reckoners #2) by Brandon Sanderson. It’s by Brandon Sanderson, what more do I have to say? Brandon Sanderson has loads of stuff due out this year and if you haven’t read Sanderson then you don’t read fantasy! Book 1 in this series saw us in an alternate Chicago battling invincible humans with god-like capabilities. Fast paced and thoroughly enjoyable if you haven’t read it then check it out. If you want to know more about Brandon Sanderson and his oodles of awesome books then go to http://brandonsanderson.com/

6. The Autumn Republic (The Powder Mage Trilogy #3) by Brian McClellan. Another flintlock fantasy series which I would highly recommend. The series follows Field Marshall Tamas, his son Taniel Two-shot and a retired police Inspector Adamat as they try to set the world to rights. Includes all of the necessary pace, action, magic and intrigue to keep you coming back for more. Check out the series and the side novels that accompany it at http://www.brianmcclellan.com/

7. Gemini Cell (Shadow Ops #4) by Myke Cole. This modern military fantasy series mixes guns, magic and warfare seamlessly. I have been reading this series since it was first launched in 2012 with Control Point, which was described as Black Hawk Down meets X-men. It has kept me wanting more and I eagerly await February each year for the next instalment in the series. Book 4 takes us back to the event that kicks off everything that happens in the earlier novels, when magic first returns to earth. Check out all of the series at http://mykecole.com/

8. The Thorn of Emberlain (The Gentlemen Bastards #4) by Scott Lynch. This is a book I cannot wait to get my hands on. The series follows two thieves Locke Lamora and his best friend Jean Tannen and has been described as Robin Hood meets Oceans 11. Absolutely amazing series of books that will have you laughing out loud at some of their exploits. Check out these and the accompanying novellas at http://www.scottlynch.us/books.html

9. The Liars Key (The Red Queen’s War #2) by Mark Lawrence. This is book 2 of the second of Mark Lawrence’s trilogies set in this abstract future earth. So far this series is as humorous as the first was dark. It is set in the future where mankind have reverted back to being near middle-ages like after a nuclear holocaust. I really enjoyed the first series though I do know some people who just didn’t take to the main character and stopped reading, but the second series so far is so different that it could be a different author. I found book 1 in this series to be a  highly entertaining read. Check out all of Mark Lawrence’s work here at http://www.marklawrence.buzz/about-the-author/

10. Rhune (The First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan. If you have read the Riyria novels then you will probably be looking forward to this as much as I am. It is set in the same world as the Riyria novels but in the distant past. I am sure this novel will be up to Michael’s usual high standards and will be as foul language free as his previous work meaning that I can let my 10 year old listen to it in the car with me. check out all of Michael J. Sullivans work at http://riyria.blogspot.co.uk/

I had thought I would add a small after note to this post as there are a number of books that I am waiting for but don’t have a release date for. First among these is Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicals #3. I finished reading the first two books about 2 years ago now and have been waiting not so patiently for number 3. Next would be George RR Martin’s continuation of the Song of Fire and Ice (Game of Thrones) series Winds of Winter. A last mention for another favourite of mine Joe Abercrombie whose novel Half a King is out already and I need to get a chance to read it as the reviews I have read have all praised it. But Mr Abercrombie if you happen to read this then I am quietly sitting waiting for another bloody-nine novel.

Thanks for taking the time to read this far and please leave a comment. 

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Comment

